Online Newspaper for Students at School of Journalism

Rwanda to host the 2023 ‘African Heritage Awards’

To be launched on 1st, April, 2023 at Kigali Marriott Hotel, the African Heritage Awards will showcase the diversity and uniqueness of African culture.

According to Heritage Times(HT) the official organizers of the awards, the concert is an opportunity to value and appreciate Africans from various walks of life who have done extraordinary work for the betterment of the continent.

Among the recipients of these awards will be; Dr. Goodluck Jonathan former president of Nigeria who will be credited for being the first Nigerian president to agree to a peaceful handover of power honoring his opponents when he was defeated in the 2015 elections.

His government also promoted economic experts who are helping Africa to develop, such as Akinwumi Adesina who heads the African Development Bank(BAD) and Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala who heads the World Trade Organization (WTO).

John Pombe Magufuli the former president of Tanzania will receive an award for his efforts towards change through governance with the aim of suppressing the problems that threatened his country including corruption, poor start of services, wastage of public resources and others.

Ian Khama the former leader of Botswana will be commended for his commitment to human rights and the rule of law through the organization he founded ‘SKI Khama Foundation’ which has helped the youth by empowering them in sectors icluding; health, education, sports and more.

From Rwanda, Christelle Kwizera will be honored for her efforts to provide clean water to the people through the organization she founded: ‘Water Access Rwanda’.

Others include; Victoria Nalongo Namusisi the founder of ‘Bright kids Uganda’ a charity organization. She’s also the first sports journalist in Uganda.

Engineer Simbi Kesiye Wabote head of the Development Agency in Nigeria, Kenyan lawyer Prof. Patrick Loch Otieno Lumumba, Sir. Benedict Peters who heads the Nigerian petroleum trading company: Aiteo Group, Dr. Ifie Sekibo the African chairman of International energy Insurance (IEI) among others.

To attend the ceremony, one must have an invitation or register through:

Share this article