Online Newspaper for Students at School of Journalism

Hospitality and BBICT departments win MKUR Inter-department swimming competitions

BBICT students celebrating their win

The much-anticipated MKUR (Mount Kigali University Rwanda) inter-department swimming competition, held on March 8th, 2024, witnessed an impressive display of talent from various departments including; BBM (Bachelor’s in Business Management), BBICT (Bachelor’s in Information and Communication Technology), Hospitality, and Nursing.

Among them, the Hospitality and BBICT departments stood out, captivating the audience with their remarkable performances.

With a total of eleven swimmers competing, including nine gentlemen and two ladies, the event was filled with excitement and anticipation.

Ndemezo Erissa, representing the Hospitality department, emerged as a standout performer dominating the gentlemen categories. He showcased his exceptional skills securing top positions in the fifty meters freestyle, clocking in at 25.20 seconds, and the 100 meters freestyle with an impressive time of 55.62 seconds.

In the ladies’ division, it was a showdown between Ingabire Delphine from BBICT and Uwanone Olive from BBM.

Delphine displayed her prowess in the pool by clinching victories in both the fifty meters and 100meters breaststroke competitions, finishing with times of 01:12.87 and 01:12.87 respectively. Meanwhile, Uwanone Olive demonstrated her speed, winning the fifty meters freestyle in a swift 42.96 seconds.

The competition was not only a showcase of individual talent but also a testament to the teamwork and dedication of each department. The spirited performances from both Hospitality and BBICT departments stole the show, leaving a lasting impression on spectators.

Additionally, the event featured a variety of challenging events, including 50m butterfly, 25m underwater, and 200meters relay mix. The first team, comprised of swimmers from BBICT and BBM, emerged victorious, showcasing their outstanding teamwork and coordination. BBICT led the charge as the first team, followed by BBM as the second team.

Congratulations to all the participants for their outstanding efforts, and we look forward to witnessing more thrilling competitions in the future.

Share this article